Santo is Wrong in Calling Veterans Commitee Voting a “Travesty”

December 9, 2008 at 7:54 am 14 comments

Photobucket

Ron Santo is upset at the Veterans Committee that elects players into the Hall of Fame because he fell nine votes shy of election and because no one was elected at all. He calims the process needs to change. I totally disagree with him here. I personally do not care for the Veterans Committee becuase they have allowed some unqualified players in but I am pleased with the way they have done their electing the past eight years.

The Veterans Committee, a 64-member panel made up exclusively of all living Hall of Fame players, votes every other year on players from 1943 and after.

”It’s a travesty,” Santo said, according to the Chicago Sun-Times. ”When I saw nobody got in again, I go, ‘Whoa, this is wrong.’ They can’t keep going the way they’re going. They’ve got to put a [different] committee out there.” “It’ll be eight years now that they’ve voted and not let anybody in. And personally, I feel like there’s a lot of guys that should’ve been in, not just me,” Santo said, according to the Chicago Tribune.

I honestly can’t stand the fact that people think someone has to be elected every year. That thought process is what has helped water-down what we call the Hall of Fame. Hall of Fame chairwoman Jane Forbes Clark said it perfect here: ”The process was not redesigned with the goal of necessarily electing someone, but to give everyone on the ballot a very fair chance of earning election through a ballot of their peers.”

Is Santo a Hall of Famer? Some say so and I am torn on him but my thought process leans towards no. If we really have to question someone’s eligibility then are they really a Hall of Famer? Shouldn’t Hall of Famers be no-brainers?

Santo is right in saying the voting needs to change. It needs to be changed so that a if a player doesn’t get in after 5 tries he is taken off the ballot.

Let’s stop watering down the Hall of Fame, please.

-Jonathan C. Mitchell
qoutes and info taken from espn.com

online advertising

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Adam Everett Signing a No-Brainer for the Tigers Reds/Orioles Swap a Good Deal for Both

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erik  |  December 10, 2008 at 12:46 am

    I have to disagree. I believe Ron Santo does deserve induction in the hall of fame. His stats alone are very good. He played in an era where 50 hr seasons weren’t common. He was a 9 time allstar, 5 time gold glover.
    The man is beloved in Chicago along with Ernie Banks.

    Ron Santo is much more deserving of enshrinement than the likes of Phil Rizzuto!!!

    I think he is right to be pissed off. He belongs in Cooperstown.

    Reply
  • 2. Danno  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:32 am

    Sorry Jonathan, but have to agree with Erik on this one for the same reasons mentioned.

    Reply
  • 3. Erik  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Thanks Danno

    Reply
  • 4. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  December 10, 2008 at 8:25 am

    I agree that Rizzuto does not belong as well. Santo on the other hand, I’m still not sure and my gut tells me that if I have to think too long about it then they don’t get my hypothetical vote.

    The thing that bothers me most about what Santo said is that he’s upset no one has been voted in for the last 8 years and he thinks someone should get in every year. That is awful thinking.

    I wouldn’t protest Santo getting in, if he does then good, if not then good. He’s a way better choice than Jim Rice. If Rice gets in this year and Santo can’t get in via Veterans Committee then he has a real case.

    Reply
  • 5. Danno  |  December 10, 2008 at 9:52 am

    I understand your reasoning, but I do think if no one gets in for an eight year stretch that something is wrong.

    I’ll tell you what’s wrong with the overall HOF….the voting should be done without having to wait five years….perhaps a one year lag would suffice….as time goes on, people tend to forget the contributions made by a player, and it comes down to stats for many. I remember Santo being one of the best during his playing days. Maybe without the five year wait period…he’d have been voted in long ago.

    Reply
  • 6. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  December 10, 2008 at 11:10 am

    I totally agree with you on the stupid 5 year deal. It should be 3 years tops. There is so much lost in those 5 years and records broken that we forget who held them and such. Very good point.

    Reply
  • 7. Charlie Nehl  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    Dan–

    I agree with you 100% there. Based on his stats alone, I don’t think Santo can really get there. When you say forgetting about the players made me think about my beloved Andre Dawson. I grew up watching him and he was my favorite player, and probably is still my number one all-time favorite player.

    With that said, with only being 26, I never saw Santo on the field and didn’t know how baseball was at the time. All I really know Santo by is his radio announcing alongside Pat Hughes. That enough is enough for me to not like the guy. He’s horrible.

    I think 3 years should be enough to get the point across. How many times did Ricky Henderson ‘retire’ only to comeback in some capacity over the next 5-6 years, to start over his 5 years?

    Reply
  • 8. Erik  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    The reason there is a 5 year lag between is to make sure you don’t have people making comebacks and playing at Julio Franco, Roger Clemens, age. It is precautionary.

    I think the two names the Veterans committee have overlooked is Santo and Hodges.

    Many players are deserving of the HOF just not many for enshrinement. But it does stand to reason if players like Rizzuto make it in then you have to give the nod to players far more deserving like Santo, Rice, Gil Hodges, etc.

    Sh*t Jonathan, I think after all this stuff you, Danno and I belong in the Hall of Fame.

    Reply
  • 9. Danno  |  December 10, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I accept Erik!

    Reply
  • 10. Erik  |  December 10, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    ’bout time Danno!

    Reply
  • 11. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  December 10, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Me too! Haha!

    If Rizzuto deserves then a ton of others do too. The thing is Rizzuto doesn’t deserve and he should not be in. He is one guy I would take out if I had my way.

    Reply
  • 12. Mitch  |  December 11, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    As someone who usually agrees with most everything post, I have to blatantly disagree wtih this post. Santo has deserved a spot for quite some time. He was the best third baseman of the 1960s and arguably the best player in baseball for about a five year span. Sure, there’s other players who shouldn’t be in, but Santo isn’t one of them.

    Reply
  • 13. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  December 11, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    Looks like I’m in the minority here. Oh well.

    My main point was actually about his comment that someone should get in every year and I totally disagree with that. It’s how Sutter got in recently and he doesn’t belong.

    Reply
  • 14. wavalpClede  |  January 29, 2009 at 11:25 am

    yo, http://www.3guysandasportspage.com great name for site)))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

Facebook Page

Archives


