Two Moves that Make Zero Sense

August 11, 2008 at 7:28 am 5 comments

Photobucket
(AP Photo/David Zalubowski)

You always see commercials, billboards, and even headlines that make you scratch your head and say out loud “what were they thinking?” Well, there were two moves that make me not only scratch my head and ask the question but they made me think that a child was capable of running the Colorado Rockies and the Chicago White Sox.

The Colorado Rockies actually signed Livan Hernandez to pitch for them. What did he do for them you ask? He pitched 2.2 innings allowing 9 runs (all earned) on 7 hits, 4 walks, and only had 1 strikeout. Did the Rockies actually think he was an upgrade over, well, anybody? What makes it worse is that he gave those runs up against one of the worst offensive teams in the league (albeit in Colorado). Livan actually apologized for his outing: “I try my best,” Hernandez said. “It’s not happen the way I want. It’s difficult. I got to move forward and help the team win. I know I no do good today. I’m sorry. I try my best.”

The Chicago White Sox lost starter Jose Contreras so they needed a replacement. Who did they get you ask? Horacio Ramirez. The man who routinely walks more men than he strikesout. The White Sox may call up a starter and use Ramirez in the pen but what were the White Sox thinking? Granted, he has pitched well out of the pen but he is moving to a great hitter’s park with a bad defense behind him and he still doesn’t miss any bats. Not a good combo for a guy who has a bad track record.

-Jonathan C. Mitchell

online advertising

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Rays Claim Chad Bradford on Waivers Not Time to Celebrate Rays 71st Win

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Two Moves that Make Zero Sense ·  |  August 11, 2008 at 11:54 am

    […] White Sox News » News Two Moves that Make Zero Sense2008-08-11 13:54:35Well, there were two moves that a child was capable of running the Colorado […]

    Reply
  • 2. Nationals’ bench heavy on lefties ·  |  August 11, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    […] Rockies News » News Two Moves that Make Zero Sense2008-08-11 20:26:28There Rockies and the question but they made me think that make me not only […]

    Reply
  • 3. MikeMcGinnis  |  August 11, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    yea i was oerplexed by the whole livan-rox thhing. made no sense at all

    Reply
  • 4. James & Lindsey ·  |  August 13, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    […] News » News Two Moves that Make Zero Sense2008-08-13 21:15:14Of made me not only scratch my head and the question but they made me think that […]

    Reply
  • […] News » News Two Moves that Make Zero Sense2008-08-18 19:08:47Of made me not only scratch my head and the question but they made me think that […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

Facebook Page

Archives


