Pedro may retire after 2008

May 20, 2008 at 9:32 am 8 comments

Photobucket

Pedro Martinez, the most dominant pitcher of all-time in his prime, said he will contemplate retirement at the end of this season to tend to his ailing 78-year-old father Pablo who is battling a form of brain cancer according to the New York Daily News.

“It’s taking a toll on me and my family, my dad’s situation,” Martinez told the Daily News. “I haven’t been there for them. I just realized that between last year and this year I haven’t been there for my family, my parents.”

“That’ll probably drag me away from the game a little sooner than people expect.

“After this season, I’m going to go back home and think about it and I’m going to decide.”

Meanwhile, the three-time Cy Young winner inched closer to a return to the Mets by throwing 4 1/3 innings of a simulated game Monday in Port St. Lucie, Fla.

The Mets plan to have him throw a bullpen session Wednesday or Thursday in Atlanta.

“They want to evaluate how I look,” Martinez told the Daily News. “I feel very good. … I had good pop. I could dial it up when I needed to.

“I’m healthy and if I’m healthy, I can get big league hitters out.”
Martinez, who has been out since straining his left hamstring April 1 in his only start of the season for New York, threw 77 pitches.

He previously threw 55 pitches in a simulated game on May 14.

Still, Martinez’s thoughts remain with his father.

“He’s stable, but he’s not going to get any better,” he told the Daily News. “He can’t take any more chemo. We’re letting him have a nice end of his life. The chemo is not going to help him. If they give him the chemo that might be it.

“They told me there’s nothing we can do. He’s eventually going to deteriorate.”
Martinez said if he does retire, it has no reflection on his situation with the Mets.

“If I do go away sooner than later, understand it’s because of my family,” he told the Daily News.

This is a very sad situation for Pedro and his family and his fans.

I do believe he still has atleast one more good year in him but I totally commend him for leaving the game he loves for the people he loves.

Pedro, if you didn’t notice from his comments above, is very close to his family and he is a very giving person. The time I met him he talked about his family to a fan and spoke highly of them and mentioned how they made him who is today. Martinez has also done other great things like fund little league baseball fields and he has built atleast a dozen churches in the Dominican Republic.

Pedro Martinez is more than the most dominant pitcher of all-time in his prime, he is a man that loves and cares for those around him more than himself. M thoughts and prayers are with him and his family.

-Jonathan C. Mitchell
quotes and some info taken from espn.com and the AP

online advertising

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Not Quite Ready Piazza Retires

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. [dabakerman]  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:38 am

    he had a very good run in boston but he needs to retire sorry nym fans he’ll last till the season ends then he’ll chill in a house in florida. then later on when the rays get better on their pitching game theyll ask him to coe to their team but well have to see what happens then

    Reply
  • 2. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  May 20, 2008 at 11:48 am

    I think he still has a good year in him. The Rays don’t need him for the future with the plethora of talent on the way and already up but I wouldn’t mind him as a 5th starter if he could still produce.

    Reply
  • 3. Adam  |  May 20, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    He’s been the Glass Man ever since he left the Red Sox. He had that one good year with The Mets and ever since then it’s just been a disaster.

    Reply
  • 4. Charlie Nehl  |  May 20, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Yeah he hasn’t quite been the same person this season. I really thought that he was going to make a big comeback this season. When he showed his foot was ok, his leg gave out this time.

    Regardless if he does retire or not after this season, he’ll be in the Hall in five years after his retirement.

    Reply
  • 5. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  May 20, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    I agree Adam. I still believe in his ability if he can stay healthy though. But there lies the problem.

    Reply
  • 6. supremesportsjustice  |  May 20, 2008 at 7:47 pm

    I don’t think he’ll retire. Once he gets back and realizes how much he loves the game, he’ll return. I wish his father well, but it doesn’t sound good. I think he’d return to dedicate a season to his father.

    Reply
  • 7. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  May 20, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    I like that thinking Danno! I hope he does return with some fire and a new desire under his belt but I do hope his dad has a miraculous recovery.

    Reply
  • 8. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  May 22, 2008 at 10:20 am

    “I feel great physically and for the record I haven’t considered retirement. Retirement would only take place if my arm is badly hurt and if I have to face surgery or something near that nature.” – Pedro Martinez

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Facebook Page

Archives


