Carlos Gomez needs to earn his stripes

May 1, 2008 at 6:08 pm 4 comments

Photobucket
(AP Photo/Jim Mone)

In my personal blog I wrote how Yunel Escobar’s bat flip annoys the crap out of me and I was actually going to include Carlos Gomez in my rant but figured my annoyance with him would pass, until his game yesterday.

Here is a piece by Tom Powers of twincities.com:

In Wednesday’s game, Gomez, the team’s irrepressible young center fielder, had three hits, scored two runs, knocked in a run, stole a base and forced a balk. He also was chastised for hot-dogging while catching fly balls and for trying to steal third base with two outs and Joe Mauer at the plate.

Which he did, by the way, but then was thrown out at home after the ball skipped a few feet from the third baseman.

What a show!

He’s been doing it all year. The fact that I don’t get to see a ton of Twins games has made me less annoyed by his antics but manager Ron Gardenhire seems to be on my side in thinking his antics are ridiculous:

“It’s kind of crazy, really. It’s high school,” Gardenhire said of Gomez’s antics. “I don’t even know if it’s college (level). But he’s so enthusiastic and such a talent … “

I can’t disagree with him here. What is Gomez thinking? Who does he think he is? He needs to earn his stripes and even then he needs to behave in a manner that is respectable to the game. You can show your emotions and a certain enthusiasm in a positive way that is not showboating much like Jonathan Papelbon, David Ortiz, C.C. Sabathia, and David Wright to name a few.

Here is how the base running crap went down:

Two outs, Gomez on second and the Twins’ hottest hitter, Mauer, up, Minnesota is clinging to a 4-3 lead. Suddenly, Gomez breaks for third base. Who knows why? Gomez can score from second on almost any single. Plus, the left-handed-hitting Mauer gives the catcher a clear throw to third base.

No matter, Gomez was off to the races. Catcher Toby Hall’s throw beat Gomez, but the ball squirted out of Joe Crede’s glove when he attempted to apply the tag. As the baseball rolled maybe 10 feet away, Gomez popped up and raced for home.

He was called out on a very close play that could have gone either way. Gardenhire ran out to argue with home plate umpire Tim Timmons but admits his heart wasn’t in it.

“I couldn’t even make a good argument,” he said. “I kept thinking, ‘what the *$#@% is he doing?’ “

Gomez is a very exciting player and should be a very good one in time but for now he needs to improve his .279 OBP and settle down and become a team player and cut the antics.

-Jonathan C. Mitchell

online advertising

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Jack Lynch has nothing on Roy Halladay Rays should narrow their choice to three

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. supremesportsjustice  |  May 1, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Jonathan, I’m not going to defend Gomez, but while with the Mets, Randolph never preached baserunning fundamentals…and several of the Mets would run wild, often times trying to swipe 3B with two outs. Reyes, Gomez, Chavez, and Milledge all did it last season, without repercussion. He needs to get un-mets-risized and learn the fundamentals from the Twins coaches.

    Reply
  • 2. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  May 1, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    It’s more than that. Gomez showboats on routine flyballs and talks and acts like he is the best player in the league. I’m not the first one to mention it either. He has issues with showboating and he needs to tone down a bit.

    Reply
  • 3. supremesportsjustice  |  May 1, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Yes, agreed.

    Reply
  • 4. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  May 9, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    This is great from the blog twinsnottwinkies:

    A reporter asked our potential Opening Day center fielder how he thought he could handle playing in the Dome. His response?

    “If Torii Hunter can catch the ball there, why can’t I catch it there?”

    But wait, it gets better.

    “They don’t have no speed like me. I know I can help this team. Especially when I hit ahead of [Justin] Morneau and the catcher and the other guy.”

    He actually referred to Joe Mauer and Michael Cuddyer as “the catcher and the other guy”. I crack a smile every time I read this.

    “They will all have more RBIs,”

    His speed is hereditary:

    “My dad was fast,” Gomez said. “When I was a kid and I worked out with my older friends, they all worked out so hard for their running. I do nothing. They say, ‘Why are you so fast when you don’t do nothing?’ I tell them that my dad was fast.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

Facebook Page

Archives


