This is why I love Pedro Martinez

February 15, 2008 at 9:46 am 4 comments

Photobucket

In a day when all we hear is talk about the “Steroid Era” and the fact that one of the 3 best pitchers of all-time is in court trying to prove his innonocence, it is great to know that Pedro Martinez is waiting around the corner waiting to dish out his next great quote.

“I dominated that era and I did it clean,” Pedro Martinez said. “I can stand by my numbers and I can be proud of them.”

He isn’t lying kids! He dominated an era ruled by hitters and hitting records (click here for the article on best pitchers of all-time) and he isn’t ashamed of how he did it and how he recovered from injuries.

“I have a small frame and when I hurt all I could do was take a couple of Aleve or Advil, a cup of coffee and a little mango and an egg — and let it go!” he said. Now that is a remedy I am going to start using for my injuries. If Andy Pettitte would’ve been Pedro’s teammate he wouldn’t have to had used HGH for all his injuries and he wouldn’t have to keep “remembering” years he used HGH to recover.

The Pedro quotes keep on rollin’.

When asked about the aquisition of the best pitcher on the planet he said, “Ahh, I can breathe. I’m extremely happy to have Johan here. It’s like a big glass of cold water when you’re thirsty.”

Or, like eggs, coffee, mango, and Advil when you’re in pain.

He continued talking about Santana and said, “I can’t wait to give him a big hug and tell him, Hey, we’re together. One from the left side, one from the right side.”

After all the praise he gave to the best pitcher in the world Martinez still isn’t planning on playing second fiddle to anyone.

“I know Johan is an ace. And when I get the ball, I’m an ace. When I get the ball as a starter, I’m the guy styling.”

I love it! He is 36 and still calls himself an ace in the same breath he calls Johan Santana an ace. Oh, and he does it all while “styling”. You can’t beat that!

The best part about all of this is that I believe him.

-Jonathan C. Mitchell
some info taken from the AP

online advertising

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Baltimore is doing the right thing by rebuilding My Pedro Martinez Man Crush Continues

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erik  |  February 15, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    So… Who’s up for a Cockfight with Lil Jerry Seinfeld Pedro will give out free Autographs?

    Reply
  • 2. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  February 15, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Haha! At least he cockfights legally.

    Reply
  • 3. Danno  |  February 16, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    I saw all of Pedro’s starts last season after returning from surgery. His velocity was clearly down, but he pitched so smart, and was able to hit the corners and change speeds, that it does look like he can win 15 games this season.

    Reply
  • 4. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  February 16, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    I agree. I got to see one of his starts and video of others and he commands 4 pitches well and his velo drop is the only thing that hurts him. If healthy, he can win 15 easily.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Facebook Page

Archives


