Top Prospects (1-100)

February 6, 2008 at 9:17 am 8 comments

Photobucket
photo by: Andrew Roche

This isn’t your typical prospect list. Most lists will have all players that have not yet reached rookie status. My list is of players that have never been in the majors. The reason I did this is to exclude most of the players you’ve already heard of (Jacoby Ellsbury, Joba Chamberlain, Clay Buchholz…) and introduce you to some unknown prospects that may emerege as stars one day. I now present you with the top 100 prospects:

[TABLE=47]
-Jonathan C. Mitchell

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Pirates sign Freddy Sanchez to multi-year deal Baltimore is doing the right thing by rebuilding

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erik  |  February 6, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Good effin list Jonathan.

    Reply
  • 2. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  February 6, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Thanks a lot! I put a lot of work into it.

    Reply
  • 3. 19  |  February 6, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Hey, Jonathan, fantastic job on your list.
    Question for you: what do you think about Jeff Niemann? I’ve had him for a few years now on my fantasy teams, hoping he’ll be the real deal when he finally gets the call (and stays healthy long enough to do so). His stock seems to have dropped a bit. Is it because of the injuries?

    Reply
  • 4. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  February 6, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    I love Niemann… as the Rays future closer. I talked to Scouts Inc. Keith Law about that and he thinks I’m on the money. I personally think he can be a Joe Nathan type of closer but the Rays seem to want him to start. I think a move to the pen will work wonders for him.

    Reply
  • 5. Danno  |  February 9, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    Job well done Jonathan!

    Reply
  • 6. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  February 11, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Thank you. I appreciate it!

    Reply
  • 7. Nik the Russian  |  February 15, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Interesting list… what do you feel is the best source for researching prospects in the minors. I’ve checked several different websites and noticed that the results/consensus on players varies greatly.

    Reply
  • 8. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  February 15, 2008 at 11:11 am

    I like to hear from scouts, I look at stats (but keep in mind age and level), stat trends for that player, and a little bit of gut. I also like to see some guys in person but I don’t get to see too many.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Facebook Page

Archives


