Swisher dealt to White Sox for 3 minor leaguers

January 3, 2008 at 12:45 pm 16 comments

Photobucket

The Oakland Athletics made their second major trade in three weeks, sending outfielder and fan favorite Nick Swisher to the Chicago White Sox for left-hander Gio Gonzalez, right-hander Fautino De Los Santos, and outfielder Ryan Sweeney. The White Sox are the hands down winner of this deal.

Kevin Goldstein at Baseball Prospectus has the three players ranked 1st (De Los Santos), 2nd (Gonzalez) and 8th (Sweeney) in the White Sox system. The only problem is that the White Sox system isn’t very good.

Keith Law described the three prospects in a chat today as follows: de los Santos is the key – two plus pitches, could use a third one to be a starter, decent control. Gio to me is just a back-end guy, going to a good park/defense will help. Sweeney is a 5:00 hitter – great power in BP, no power in games. Has a good swing, good approach, plays a capable CF, but he’s got to show some power after 7 pm.

If Ryan Sweeney can ever get it together, an by getting it together I mean hitting 25+ homers annually, this could be a good deal for the A’s. I’ve thought of de los Santos as a reliever but I’m no Keith Law. Gio Gonzalez is, in my opinion, what Keith said, a back-end of the rotation starter.

Swisher should put up huge numbers in Chicago and he is under thier control for another three years I beleive.

This move doesn’t make the Sox contenders but they traded away two guys in Gonzalez and Sweeney that really had no future with the Sox.

-Jonathan C. Mitchell
Some info form The Associated Press

online advertising

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Astros sign reliever Oscar Villarreal 2008 Hall of Fame Induction

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Charlie Nehl  |  January 3, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I like the move in general. Initially this move is entire in favor of the Sox. It will be interesting to see where Swisher is going to play for the Sox. I would think that Dye would stay in Right, but I suppose Dye could move over to left, since age is a starting to catch up with him just a little bit.

    Here’s the funny thing about Ryan Sweeny. He’s from about 45 mins from my hometown, and I live in his hometown now (Cedar Rapids, Iowa). When he was pitching for Xavier back in High School, he was the top rated pitcher in the state. I was fortunate enought to not have to face him because i was a few years ahead of him, but we still played Xavier ever so often.

    Why he decided to switch to outfield, I’m not sure. Maybe a better shot at making it up sooner? I think he could definately start for the A’s this season, however. We’ll see if he can figure it out.

    I think the ChiSox got Gonzalez from the Phillies in the Freddie Garcia deal along with Gavin Floyd.

    Honestly? I think the Sox have enough power in their lineup the way it is. Will we see a repeat of the slow starts of Kornerko and Dye? I doubt it. Kornerko eventually pulled out of it, but Dye did not. We’ll see what happens. Swisher should be good for a .275 average with ~25-30 hrs.

    Reply
  • 2. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  January 3, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I didn’t know all that about Sweeney. Nice! I think the plan is to play Swisher in CF and play Dye and newly acquired Carlos Quentin in the corners (I’d put Quentin in RF and Dye in LF). I think Dye’s stats could stay the same but Konerko won’t be that bad at the start again.

    Gonzalez was in the Garcia deal. His numbers are better than his stuff in the minors too.

    I think Swisher will hit 30-40 homers in 2008 no problem.

    Reply
  • 3. Erik  |  January 4, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Interesting deal, Oakland is in their rebuilding phase having getting prospects from AZ and from Chicago. I think Swishers best position is already occupied and I don’t see him as a CFer and possibly Quentin will be moved to CF cause of his athleticism and speed. Swisher should do well in that line up.

    Reply
  • 4. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  January 4, 2008 at 11:13 am

    I don’t think the White Sox have a true CFer at all. I think they will stick him there until a spot opens. I think they will ultimately move Dye out of town and open his COF spot.

    Reply
  • 5. MikeMcGinnis  |  January 4, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    here’s my question to you jonathan:

    who goes next from the a’s?

    street? harden? blanton? kotsay?

    Reply
  • 6. Erik  |  January 5, 2008 at 7:19 am

    there are rumors about Chavez, Blanton, Ellis, Harden all being moved. Beane is in ultra-rebuilding mode.

    Reply
  • 7. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  January 5, 2008 at 7:48 pm

    I think Street is gone, Chavez (if someone takes the salary), and only if Beane gets the right players he will move Blanton and Harden.

    He is in full rebuilding mode and he knows what he is doing. He’s retooled the farm system with the two trades already.

    Reply
  • 8. Aaron Boynton  |  January 6, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    I’m starting to believe that Beane really doesn’t know what he is doing? Why? Because his teams don’t really do anything..ever. They made it to the playoffs 1 or 2 times but lose in the ALDS. If I were an A’s fan, I’d have no faith in Beane, just like I’d have no faith in Ricciardi if I were a Blue Jays fan. He’s Billy’s protege.

    Reply
  • 9. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  January 6, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    I’d have faith in Beane if he had more money to work with. He does a great job with what he has. Ricciardi has money and needs to win. He’s made some bad decisions (Wells for $136M, Eckstein…)

    Reply
  • 10. MikeMcGinnis  |  January 6, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    well, vernon wells was nagged by a bum shoulder last year but i wonder if that guy really goes out there every night and put it all on the line. at least you can say despite his limitations eckstein leaves it all out on the field night in and night out

    Reply
  • 11. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  January 6, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Wells is a very good player but not $136M good. Eckstien deal would be good for me if it was to play 2B. He is bad at SS, no range and no arm for short.

    Reply
  • 12. Charlie Nehl  |  January 7, 2008 at 8:04 am

    Well the A’s have had nack about developing good young talent through their system, and then trading them off when they’re worth quite a bit. These young guys always make a competetive team, but not enought to get to the big dance. Even with trading Haren and now Swisher, and possibly others, I think they will still compete for the Wild Card in the AL, but not sure if they’re going to compete for the AL West this season.

    Reply
  • 13. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  January 7, 2008 at 8:51 am

    I don’t think there is anyway they can compete for the West or the Wild Card. They will have to beat out the Indians or Tigers, Yankees, Mariners, and possibly the Twins (if they keep Santana) for the Wild Card. I think they finish with 75 wins if they are lucky and Harden, Chavez, and Crosby are healthy all season.

    Reply
  • 14. Charlie Nehl  |  January 7, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Yeah, I don’t think they’re chances are overall good, but for some reason, they alway put up a competitive team, but I don’t think they’ll take the wild card spot.

    Reply
  • 15. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  January 8, 2008 at 10:42 am

    I think Oakland will win more games than the 60 something people are projecting but I don’t think they can contend.

    Reply
  • 16. erik  |  January 9, 2008 at 5:12 am

    I think within a few years oakland will be a team to reckon with. In 2008 however they will be a team that wins 69-72 games. Sure they are a young team… But Geren, Beane put a club on the field that is gritty and will play hard every time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

Facebook Page

Archives


