Our 2007 MLB Season Awards

October 2, 2007 at 7:57 am 30 comments

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

The regular season concluded on Sunday and we are now staring at the best postseason in all of sports (my opinion of course). We decided to give you our MLB Award winners now and predict who will win the World Series. You may agree with some of our decisions or you may not, so let us hear what you think. I now present you with the 3Guys 2007 MLB Season Awards:

[TABLE=11]

online advertising

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Year of the Rookie: The Hitters (The Rest) Is an Upset Around the Corner?

30 Comments

  • 1. Brooke Saul  |  October 2, 2007 at 8:39 am

    I think you guys have to improve on your predictions! As a sports writer myself, I have to agree with Mike McGinnis the most. The Yankees are a team who will be going to the World Series, no question about it. The Rockies are an incredible team after seeing last night’s one game playoff. A-Rod for sure will get AL MVP.

  • 2. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  October 2, 2007 at 9:21 am

    Brooke, I gotta say, I love your comment! I love when people are honest.

    I like how you say “no question about it” when you say the Yanks will make it to the WS. There are a lot of question marks there. I chose Cleveland over Philly because I chose that back in Feb. Lee over Young for NL comeback. Take a look at both of their stats from last year then look at this year. Lee is the winner over Young. I think any of our picks could be justified but only time will tell.

    By the way, are you a Yankee fan?

    Thanks for the comment, keep em coming!

  • 3. charlie  |  October 2, 2007 at 12:47 pm

    I can’t go with my intial pick, because I had the Braves over the Red Sox in 6 and that’s obviously not going to happen. Anybody can argue any of those predictions. The Rockies are playing really good ball lately. I’d say that there are no “for sure” pics for the World Series, however.

    I like the Cubs rotation, and closing bullpen (minus dempster) over most the rest the National League. Not to mention that Lee, Soriano, and Ramirez flexed their muscles in September and lead the team to mashing in some runs. They’ve got a lot going for them right now.

    Much in the same, I think the BoSox have a lot going for them right now. You know Schilling is going be tough as usual in the playoffs. You have Beckett and Dice-K after that.

    I’m not sure the Yankees have the rotation to make it to the big dance, personally. Their lineup is going to make it competetive, but I just don’t see them doing it.

    With the Rockies making the playoffs now, I’d think Holliday is going to take the MVP now.

  • 4. suzy  |  October 2, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    basebal is now and always about the numbers when it comes to the players. the pure joy of it is when all the numbers are together on a team its either magic or tragic! yanks relying on ##’s is tragic. Believing in the combined numbers working as a team thats magic!

  • 5. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  October 2, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    Look at the Diamondbacks, they scored 712 runs but gave up 732 runs and they had the best record in the NL, now that’s magic!

  • 6. Tyler  |  October 2, 2007 at 4:10 pm

    Just in response to Charlie, the Red Sox rotation is going to be Beckett, Daisuke and then Schil. This years post season is going to be pretty special, there is no real clear cut team that is supposed to win it all.

  • 7. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  October 2, 2007 at 6:30 pm

    I agree Tyler, there really is no clear cut team. It could be any of the 8 teams in the playoffs now.

  • 8. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  October 2, 2007 at 6:43 pm

    Pena and Young won the comeback awards today.

  • 9. Brooke Saul  |  October 2, 2007 at 7:14 pm

    Hi Jonathan,
    I am a Yankees fan. Proud of it.
    I was honest and I just told you what I think. There are a lot of question marks and I want people to debate my answers and I am glad you responded. I think Philly has a good chance to go to the WS. They’re a great team. I agree with how you said, “I think any of our picks could be justified but only time will tell.” But trust me, the Bronx Bombers are going to go all the way.
    -Brooke

  • 10. Trip  |  October 3, 2007 at 10:19 am

    I have to say, Kazmir is great but not Cy Young worthy. He did get the most strikeouts in the AL, and the MLB if Peavy had not played that extra game. But he only had a respectable 3.48 ERA, and gave up 89 walks. If he was on a better team he probably would have won 2 or 3 more games. Maybe in a couple years Kaz will be Cy Young worthy, but right now, he’s an Ace.

  • 11. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  October 3, 2007 at 10:25 am

    I agree with you Trip, but at the same time I think he’s closer to Cy worthy than people will say. To me W-L records are the least important thing when evaluating a pitcher. ERA, Strikeouts, Innings, BB/K rate, AVG against are the most important and with that Kazmir finishes in my top 7 for AL Cy Young. But you are right, not this year for Kaz.

  • 12. MikeMcGinnis  |  October 3, 2007 at 7:37 pm

    many thanks for the comments and input brooke. the rockies to me look like the such the dangerous team that really is young with nothing to loose and feel they can go toe to toe with anyone and i believe they can.

    i think the yankees kind of relish this wild card not good enough to get 1 or 2 seed role and it makes them more dangerous because they feel they ahve something to prove to everyone.

  • 13. MikeMcGinnis  |  October 3, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    yes good points charlie but dempster closing games make me nervous and i will go with the rockies also, as impressive as their bats are i don’t trust the cubs hitters in situational hitting like i do the rockies.

    conventional wisdom says the red sox have an advantage over the ynakees if they do indeed meet up. but, watching those last 12 games where the yankees were 9-3 against the red sox they clearly are unitimidated or phases by dice-k, beckett, paplebon and especially schilling. they just seem to wait them out an attack at the most opportune moments. plus, the yankee hitter seem to love hitting at the fens more than they do at yankee stadium. all this could be for not though because the tribe and halos could be in the ALCS as well!

  • 14. Shawn  |  October 4, 2007 at 9:41 am

    The Yankees are not going to make it to the world series. First of all, A-rod will start playing like a girl again b/c it’s October, and he’s due for his yearly chokefest. They’re rotation isn’t strong enough, and Cleveland is a better overall team anyway.

    My prediction? Red Sox over Rockies in 6.

  • 15. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  October 4, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Thank you Shawn. I agree that the Indians will beat the Yanks. I would love to see a Red Sox-Indians ALCS, great pitching match-ups and good lineups.

  • 16. Shawn  |  October 4, 2007 at 12:13 pm

    Jonathan, you’re right on the ball. I don’t care if the Indians went 0-6 against the yanks in the regular season, THEY DIDN’T SEE SABATHIA OR CARMONA!!! I’m really getting tired of people saying that any team playing the Yankees doesn’t have a chance. Hm, I guess the ’06 Tigers didn’t have a chance? Yeah, Indians/Red Sox would probably be the best match up of the year in my opinion. Great pitching/offense, and tied for best record in the majors. Whoo!

  • 17. Shawn  |  October 4, 2007 at 3:06 pm

    First, Buddy do you live in Tampa? The reason I ask is Scott Kasmir for the Cy Young and Delmon Young for ROY? Scott Kasmir has never won more than 13 games, I’d give John Lackey a better chance And second, Pedroia Has had a better year, and has meant more to his team, sure he stuggled the first month but he has come back and set a record for the highest batting average by a rookie second baseman. And to all 4 of you why hasn’t Mike Lowel gotten any consideration? I know A-Rod had a good year but Lowell had a carrer year. He helb Boston together when Manny and Papi were hurt. The MVP should not go to the person who had the best year it should go to the player who was MOST VALUABLE to their team and that is Lowell.

  • 18. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  October 4, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    Buddy is from Tampa. I agree that neither will win the award but Delmon did lead all rookies, not just AL, in RBI, hits, and 2nd in doubles. Not a bad pick.

    Kazmir is as much of a Cy Young winner as Lowell is an MVP. Lowell may have had a career year but so did Nick Markakis of the Orioles. You can’t rely on that so much. Lowell might finish in the top 10 but Ortiz and Beckett were more valuable on the same team. But that doesn’t take away how good of a season he had. Great comment, keep em coming!

  • 19. Tyler  |  October 4, 2007 at 4:17 pm

    Shawn, I totally agree that Lowell should be an MVP candidate. But saying that A-Rod isnt the MVP of the yankees is foolish. If there were no A-Rod on the Yankees, they wouldn’t even be in the post season right now, and I’m a Red Sox fan lol

  • 20. Eddie  |  October 4, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    i know you guys dont care and i havent read the rest of your postings yet 🙂 but ill tell you what i think anyways

    NL MVP:matt holiday
    AL MVP:arod
    NL Cy Young:jake peavy
    AL Cy Young:CC sabathia
    NL R.O.Y.:Troy Tulowitski
    AL R.O.Y.:Dustin Pedroia
    NL M.O.Y.:Clint Hurdle
    AL M.O.Y :Mike Socia
    NL Comeback P.O.Y.:Dimitri Young
    AL Comeback P.O.Y.:Carlos Pena
    World Series Prediction

    Indians over Rockies in 7

    its crazy 😀 but who knows

  • 21. Shawn K  |  October 4, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    Hmm, that weird…just to clarify, the last two Shawn posts were a different dude. The last post I made was about the indians/red sox. I’ll put a k at the end of mine from now on.

  • 22. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  October 4, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    The whole Shawn thing was throwing me off too! Thanks for fixing it Shawn K!

    Eddie, I like your picks. I can’t disagree with any of them really. They are all great candidates. I had almost all the same picks as you but the ones that were different are good ones either way.

    Tyler and Shawn – I too agree Lowell is a candidate, just not the MVP.

  • 23. charlie  |  October 5, 2007 at 7:37 am

    The way it looks now I can see a Tribe / Rockies World Series now.

    Look like my cubbies are choking their post season away 😦

  • 24. Stormy Payne  |  October 5, 2007 at 11:32 am

    hey i know A-rod had more HR and RBIs but Magglio was the overall better player…. if he doesn’t get this award i will seriously hate the yankees and their money bought players even more.
    world series prediction…. Indians over the D-Backs in 5

  • 25. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  October 5, 2007 at 11:43 am

    I still think A-Rod was more valuable than Mags. The numbers prove it and the defense was better on A-Rod’s part.

    Magglio Ordonez is also a money bought player just like A-Rod. The Tigers have a team full of them (Mags, Sheff, I-Rod, Guillen).

  • 26. suzy  |  October 6, 2007 at 7:52 am

    hey shawn good call did you see a-rod in his skirt last night?
    Cubbies are goin home and settling in our 3 hitters got kinda choked and ran with it but in the end that just gives us more baseball! i loved lilly throwing his glove that was classic. they’ll have fun winning at home tonight.

  • 27. charlie  |  October 7, 2007 at 6:17 am

    i thought so too suzy 😦

    why wait 99, and just make it a 100 years.

  • 28. Alberto V  |  October 21, 2007 at 12:50 am

    i actually think that bud black has a chance for the NL Manager Of The Year, considering it’s his first year

  • 29. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  October 21, 2007 at 6:01 am

    I actually agree with you Alberto. I think Bud Black should be in the top 3 finalist for NL Manager of the Year. He did a tremendous job with that ball club.

  • 30. James  |  October 24, 2007 at 11:37 am

    AL Cy Young- Josh Beckett
    AL ROY- Dustin Pedroia
    AL MVP- Mike Lowell, Without Lowell, the Sox lose 128 RBI’s and maybe give up the East Divsion and ALCS, A-ROD even had incrediable numbers, take him out and the Yanks are still tough.
    AL Manager- Eric Wedge.

    NL CY Young Jake Peavy
    NL ROY Tilowitski
    NL MVP Matt Holiday
    NL Manager Clint Hurdle

    World Series: Red Sox in 6

Trackback this post


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

Facebook Page

Archives


