My 2007 NL All-Star Ballot

June 27, 2007 at 9:27 pm 32 comments

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I turned in my “personal” ballot (5 times) a month ago. I went down the line and chose every player (except one) from my favorite team. I will not show that ballot. But I will let you see my legit ballot and let you know why I picked who I picked. You may surprised, you may disagree, but without arguing sports wouldn’t be as popular as they are.

So here is my NL ballot:

National League

C – Russell Martin (LAD) – Martin is hitting .295-8-49-13-42 and playing good defense and calls a great game. He is the clear candidate to be the starting catcher in the game. 49 RBI and 13 SB from a catcher and we’re not at the halfway point yet!

1B – Prince Fielder (MIL) – The Prince is hitting .284-27-62-0-54. His team is in first, he leads the league in homers, and he has swagger. Perfect fit for the game.

2B – Chase Utley (PHI) – Utley owns all secondbaseman in stats with a .325-13-60-4-54 line. He also leads the league in doubles with 30. Dan Uggla has been good but Utley is the clear choice.

3B – Miguel Cabrera (FLA) – You could make a case for David Wright or even Chipper Jones but with Cabrera’s numbers (.326-17-55-0-46) he is my choice. He owns 3B in all categories except SB. He is, in my opinion, the clear choice to start at 3B.

SS – J.J. Hardy (MIL) – Here is the one I figure I will catch some slack. Hardy is hitting .286-18-50-0-44. My other options were Jimmy Rollins (.284-13-45-14-61), Jose Reyes (.317-3-33-38-53), and Edgar Renteria (.322-10-36-5-50). Hardy leads all shortstops in homers, SLUG percentage, and in RBI. He may not have the SB of the others but he deserves this spot. Let me hear from the nay-sayers now!

OF – Matt Holliday (COL) – Can’t argue here. Holliday is hitting .349-13-60-3-47. He has become the best offensive OF in the league. He belongs here.

OF – Eric Byrnes (ARI) – You can make a case for Carlos Lee here but I believe Byrnes has earned this spot. With stats (.312-13-43-14-48) and his frequent visits on “Web Gems” he deserves to be starting. He is also the spark plug for the 1st place D-Backs.

OF – Ken Griffey Jr. (CIN) – Again, you can make your case for Lee and he deserves to be an All-Star but can you argue with Junior? He’s looking like his old self hitting .295-21-47-2-42. The fans have voted for him, his stats actually deserve it, why not Griffey? He is also second to Holliday in SLUG (.587 to Griffey’s .586).

SP – Jake Peavy (SD) – In 105 innings Peavy is 9-2 with a 113/30 K/BB ratio with a .216 AVG, only 1 homer allowed and a 2.14 ERA with a 1.07 WHIP. You can make a case for Brad Penny but Peavy should be the starter.

The AL will be up tomorrow.

*Stats are through games played 6/26/07; stats are (avg-hr-rbi-sb-run)
-Jonathan C. Mitchell

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Rays Finally Make the Right Move on Dukes! My 2007 AL All-Star Ballot

32 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tyler  |  June 27, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    Hey I just wanted to say you did a great job on the voting and the flak you may catch with Hardy well I agree not just because im a Wisconsin boy and Brewer fan all the way but the kids shown he can play the game he started out strong with homers early but more importantly he knows how to drive a run in especially when the presures on he feilds his position well and I think its going to get even better in years to come. The one thing I think is Ben Sheets should make the team hes 9-3 his K/BB may not be as high with only 70/23 but he has a mean curve with an equally as tough fastball should he get the start maybe not but he deserves to make the team at least along with Francisco Cordero in 35 In. of work hes posted 47/12 K/BB ratio and 27/29 SV/SVO the mans a machine when he steps up on the mound its pretty much a 1-2-3 in. Anyway great job and keep the page going its by far the best sports page ever.

    P.S. If your ever looking for helping hands to write an artical or two drop me a line. May not be ESPN the magazine but hey I think its great sports page.

    Reply
  • 2. suzy  |  June 28, 2007 at 5:59 am

    you had me convinced untill i got to Tootie lookin boy. but you know you stats thats why you have this page and i don’t. and hey where are my Cubs???

    Reply
  • 3. Jake  |  June 28, 2007 at 6:28 am

    Yoo have to put Edgar at short! I mean he is the only ray of hope the Braves have going right now, you could say hey you still have chipper but, he is always on the dl, Andruw Jones is bating .199 that is horrible. Maybe Hudson and, smolts are doing good to but Edgar is carrying are team right now, he is having to bat third right now and that is not where a batter like him should bat he is a number two batter but with the lack of production from Andruw what else could they do? I sure don’t see Reyes, Hardy, Or Rollins having to carry there teams like that. Now Give the man the vote!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 28, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Sorry! There are some Cubs that will make it but I don’t think any deserve to be starters. This was just for the starting 9. “Tootie” (aka Griffey) is having a great year and in an era surrounded with steroids and he being void of them, I believe it’s time to celebrate that.

    Reply
  • 5. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 28, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Thanks Tyler! I’m glad someone out there has my back! I do think Sheets and Cordero will both make the roster. I just did the starting 9. If, for some reason, Sheets doesn’t make it it would be ridiculous. I’m not a fan of the rule where atleast one player from every team makes it. The Nats will have someone in the game and no one deserves it on that team. Thanks again Tyler!

    Reply
  • 6. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 28, 2007 at 9:12 am

    Good argument Jake! Renteria will make the all-star team, no doubt about it. He leads all SS in AVG and, like you said, he’s carrying the Braves on the offensive side of the ball. I just believe Hardy is the man to start. If I had to put those guys in order for the game it would go: 1. Hardy 2. Renteria 3. Rollins 4. Reyes. A lot of people think Reyes should go first but I think the other 3 are a tad better right now (but Reyes owns them in Fantasy baseball!). Thanks for the good argument about Renteria, he is deserving but Hardy gets the edge from me.

    Reply
  • 7. BaseballWhammy  |  June 28, 2007 at 10:16 am

    I think you’re pretty much spot on here. As much as it pains me that no cubbies are in the starting lineup, but you have to have the best players starting the game. I personally don’t like fans voting the starters. It’s good to get the interaction, but when teams like the Cubs, Mets, BoSox, and Yankees have such HUGE fan bases, it’s hard for the best players to get voted in. With the way A.Jones is playing, he shouldn’t be even on the top list of players. My only ‘devil’s advocate’ argument is Brad Penny for starter, but he was just start (last year i think), and with Peavy’s complete 180 from last year, he deserves it. Good work, I look forward to the AL tomorrow!

    Reply
  • 8. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 28, 2007 at 10:41 am

    Thanks brother! It was hard deciding Peavy over Penny but Peavy’s secondary numbers were the tie breaker for me.

    Reply
  • 9. Nik the Russian  |  June 28, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    O.K. 2 comments on this one….

    I can not believe you dind’t pick Reyes over Hardy at SS!!! Yeah Hardy has had a good year but reyes is the far superior offensive and defensive player. If you want dazzling plays in the field Reyes is the one who will provide them for you. And since when did the all-star game come to meann the all-offensive team? Had ozzie smith still been around would you have left him off the roster too?? While Hardy has shown more pop than Reyes this year, Reyes is still by far the more exciting player to watch. Hardy makes it i guarantee he doesn’t hit a hommer against the american league’s finest… But Reyes gets selected and i guarantee he turns that single or walk into a stolen base or two…. than maybe even make the pitcher balk him home.

    And my second point, Excellent choice with Burns. Both an excellent player and fun to watch, most people overlook him.

    Russel was a little suspect, but i guess tehre’s slim pickins at that position in the NL this year, my choice would have been McCann but he’s played ccrappy this year.

    Any thoughts on a closer?? Wagner perhaps?? he’s been money this year.

    Reply
  • 10. Nik the Russian  |  June 28, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    Just to combat Jake’s argument about other SS’s not carrying teams??? Reyes has 8 intentional walks on hte year because teams would rather pitch to the next guy than him with men on base… he’s become somewhat of an RBI machine. Place him in hte 3 hole in a lineup and you would see the true Reyes, but he is way more valuable as a leadoff man and a run CREATOR. He makes something when there is nothing. You take him out of the mets lineup and replace him with rey Ordonez and i guarantee the Mets would be in last place, not first. He is by far the most valuable SS to their team and i have to disagree with you ranking him 4th among SS’s.

    And just to comment on what Wammy said, I’m a Mets fan but i don’t vote for mets in the all-star game, but i’m sure a lot of people do…. here goes my NL Ballot C-Martin,1b-Fielder (followed close by pujols and gonzalez)2b-Chase, 3b-Miggy, SS-Reyes, OF-Byrns,Griff, and Bonds (based on pure fear pitchers have of him….. sorry andruw jones, you have to be batting over .200 for contention in my book….lol) SP-chris young (he’s earned it, better whip and era than peavy, although less strikeouts, i like the kid)CL-Waggs (followed really close by cordero)

    Reply
  • 11. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 28, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    Good argument! You almost made me a believer. Hardy is still my choice though.

    I love your pick of Chris Young, love the guy! He will make the team.

    I might give the closer gig to Francisco Cordero, barely over Billy Wagner.

    How could you leave Matt Holliday off for OF?! He is easily the best!

    Thanks for the comments!

    Reply
  • 12. Brittney  |  June 29, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Although I am a diehard Braves fan,I am not showing favoritism at all.Despite the Braves recent funk the past week or so,Edgar has been right on point from day one. Also,Brian McCann is the best young catcher in baseball (of course,that’s just an opinion haha). And as far as Jose Reyes is concerned,if I had balls,this is how the Top 5 would go:
    1)Edgar Renteria
    2)J.J. Hardy
    3)Jimmy Rollins
    4)my left nut
    5)Jose Reyes

    Reply
  • 13. suzy  |  June 29, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    good point about Tootie dueley noted…

    Reply
  • 14. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 29, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    Nice Brittney! You made me laugh with #4 on your list.

    On a more serious note, McCann is one of the best young catchers but is not having an All-Start type season. Russell Martin deserves the spot hands down.

    Reply
  • 15. Brittney  |  June 30, 2007 at 10:49 am

    I’m glad I could make you laugh haha But I agree,Mac is having a bit of an off season. He’ll get the swing of things very soon for sure..no pun intended=]

    Reply
  • 16. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 30, 2007 at 10:54 am

    You’re right, he is too good to not turn things around.

    Reply
  • 17. Brittney  |  June 30, 2007 at 10:59 am

    He’s got a pretty nice swing for a catcher…but he’s starting to get outshined a bit by our backup,Jarrod Saltalamacchia. Salty has been hot since he got here.

    Reply
  • 18. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 30, 2007 at 11:14 am

    Salty is a very good hitter, he’s actually been better behind the plate in the majors than he was in the minors. I think he will eventually take Scott Thorman off of 1B so McCann will be at catcher and Salty at 1B. That would a nice lineup!

    Reply
  • 19. Brittney  |  July 2, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Yeah,that would be nice.Salty’s a switch hitter so he could do damage from either side. But idk,although Scotty hasn’t been as good as he can at the plate,he makes some great plays at first base. Just the other day,he made a diving catch into the seats to get an out.

    Reply
  • 20. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  July 2, 2007 at 10:22 am

    Thorman is more of a platoon guy for me. I don’t think he sticks there for long. The Braves are hoping he can hit and trade him while his value is high.

    Reply
  • 21. Brittney  |  July 2, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    I hate seeing guys get traded away before they get a chance to show their true potential. I hear Red Sox fans all over the place saying how trading Edgar Renteria was a huge mistake and they wish he was back on the team. I don’t want to be that type of fan. I’d be sad if Scotty left=/

    Reply
  • 22. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  July 2, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    I’m with you. But if someone has good value and has reached their ceiling then I think they should be considered for trade as long as there is a backup plan. Salty is the backup plan.

    Reply
  • 23. Brittney  |  July 3, 2007 at 9:22 am

    I would be bummed to the highest extent if we lost Salty & Escobar. They’re our new “Baby Braves” the way Mac & Franceour were in 2005=] Whenever they come to the plate,they show you why you can’t keep them on bench for too long. The seat they were sitting in won’t miss them at all haha

    Reply
  • 24. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  July 3, 2007 at 9:41 am

    I don’t think Salty will go anywhere. Escobar on the other hand can be had for the right price. Especially with Elvis Andrus in the minors and all infield spots already filled. If the Braves make a move for pitching Escobar will most likely be a part. Smart move by the Braves for calling him up.

    Reply
  • 25. Neil  |  July 3, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    The NL outfield is incredible! wouldn’t you agree? They combine for over 1,500 HR’s!

    Reply
  • 26. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  July 3, 2007 at 1:51 pm

    It’s definitely a historic OF. It would’ve been cool is Sosa was the Rangers rep so there could’ve been even more future Hall-of-Famers in the game.

    Reply
  • 27. Brittney  |  July 4, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Am I the only one NOT happy that Barry Bonds made the game?? I can’t stand him,and this game is now nothing but a popularity contest. I apologize to anyone who disagrees.

    Reply
  • 28. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  July 4, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    I agree that it has become a popularity contest, for the most part. I think Bonds deserves to be on the team. You can’t argue with 15 bombs and an OBA over .500

    Reply
  • 29. Eddie  |  July 5, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    Totally agree with everything just a little skeptical with byrnes but i do agree.

    Reply
  • 30. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  July 5, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    Thanks again Eddie! The Byrnes pick has been subject to some nay-saying but I stick by it. He has been the most valuable player on that team full of young players and under achievers. He’s played so well and has been the most valuable on a team that has a good shot at 1st place.

    Reply
  • 31. Brittney  |  July 6, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    I’m really bummed that Smoltzie is going to miss the All-Star game because of his shoulder. It was nice having our #1 ace voted into the game,and he was going to bring his son,but now he can’t=/ This really sucks. But at least we still have our All-Star catcher=]

    Reply
  • 32. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  July 7, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    I was hoping to see Smoltz there also. I’ve always been a big Smoltz fan.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Facebook Page

Archives


