MLB Draft Grades

June 10, 2007 at 4:26 pm 10 comments

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

It is so hard to grade the MLB draft. Most of these guys won’t make it, and the ones that do usually do it with another team. It takes these players, on average, about 4 years to reach the majors. This is why it is so hard to make grades. But I did my best! Here is how I graded the 2007 MLB Draft.

[TABLE=5]

-Jonathan C. Mitchell

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

2007 MLB Mock Draft: Final Edition Dukes is at it Again…

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BaseballWhammy  |  June 11, 2007 at 8:34 am

    I was surprised that the Cubs ended up taking Vitters. Here’s the thing. I think the earliest he could be up in the majors is *maybe* 3 years. I think he just turned 18. Given ARam’s history with this legs, I don’t know if they’ll keep him past his contract now (5 years). I think he’ll be the replacement for ARam in a 5-6 years, but all depending on ARams health. I do like they picked position players instead of all pitchers for once. Their minor leagues are stacked with good young pitching.

    Reply
  • 2. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 11, 2007 at 10:08 am

    I also love the pick of catcher Josh Donaldson. I think ARam is slated for the AL soon. He could be a trade piece when Vitters is ready. The only other option is to move him to 1B and trade Lee but I don’t see that happening.

    Reply
  • 3. BaseballWhammy  |  June 11, 2007 at 11:55 am

    Yeah, I’d much rather have the Cubs keep DLee the rest of career over ARam. Lol, Donaldson was a good pickup, but the Cubs already have several Catchers in AAA and AA that almost major league ready. Looks like they might some minor leaguers to throw into deadline deals.

    Reply
  • 4. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 11, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    They very well might. That division can be won by anyon e in it. I really believe anyone of those teams can still win the NL Central. A few moves need to be made and whoever makes the moves may win the division.

    Reply
  • 5. Nik the Russian  |  June 14, 2007 at 10:47 am

    I love baseball and all but i really don’t think the MLB draft warrants any publicity, let alone an article.

    If anything do an article on past 1st pick that were busts as there are many more of those than there are actually good players chosen with the first pick.

    And shouldn’t baseball step in and set the rates for player salaries picked in the draft so the best players can get selected by the poorest teams. Right now the poorest teams are bad …. well because basically they’re poor and can’t afford to spend 5 million on their first round draft pick. We see teams now opting not to select the best talent at a spot in the draft for fear of salary demands….. since when do workers dictate to their bosses what they will be paid? The players are pretty much the workers, and the bosses are pretty much the owners, no?

    Reply
  • 6. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 14, 2007 at 11:26 am

    MLB actually has an alotted amount for each slot. The teams have to get permission to go over slot to sign players. But with that said, I have never heard of the commissioner’s office turning anyone down. I think there should be an amount for each slot and it should not go over that amount at all. I do think other parts of the contract should be worked out between the teams and agents (i.e. mojor league vs. minor league contract, spring training invites…).

    Reply
  • 7. suzy  |  June 15, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    hey Nik plentyt will of guys don’t make it to the show the draft is about hope and promise and what is to be… that my friend is why baseball is the Great American past time. enjoy!

    Reply
  • 8. tommylebowitz  |  June 19, 2007 at 12:54 am

    I reviewed the Rangers’ draft and I also think it was solid. If Daniels keeps making good drafts and stops making idiotic trades, someone will give him a shot after Hicks (or someone else if Hicks sells the team) fires him. I just can’t see him lasting much longer in Texas after essentially trading away the #2 starter on the best pitching staff in baseball that has the talent to be the staff ace of at least half of the major league teams (Chris Young), an all-star first baseman (Adrian Gonzalez), an all-star closer (Coco Cordero), and a future staff ace/#2 starter (John Danks) for an outfield prospect that hasn’t panned out (Nelson Cruz), a terrible starting pithcer that lives on the DL (Brandon McCarthy), and a setup man/closer that we hardly ever get to use (Akinori Otsuka). He drafts well, but trading away 2 all-stars and 2 future Cy Young candidates for a reliever that we never get to use is unnacceptable. If it was up to me, I would immediately fire Daniels and never offer him another job in my organization.

    Reply
  • 9. K. G.  |  June 20, 2007 at 11:13 am

    Good job keep it up. I don’ know where you find the time to know about all of these prospects, but I was hoping to find someone do a review and give grades so I’m glad you did.

    For those that don’t appreciate the draft, change the channel and if you don’t care so much why even take the time to comment. Now as far as going back and reviewing and rating how past drafts are working or not working out that’s a fine idea as well vs the gossip we usually here from local sports writers.

    As for the Rays I would hope with the first pick and the first subsequent picks (besides the sandwich picks) that they would rate higher. What should they have done better or is it that the sandwich picks of which they did not have any precluded them from doing better?

    Let’s hope the arms and catchers they picked work out and soon.

    I always like seeing more info about the Rays as they get ignored nationally (which makes their successful players the best kept secrets in fantasy ball), but kudos for getting to more fans nationally as well.

    Reply
  • 10. Jonathan C. Mitchell  |  June 20, 2007 at 12:52 pm

    Thanks a lot for the compliments! Thanks for always giving good, in depth comments! We appreciate you here at 3Guys. I actually watch these guys when I get a chance on TV, locally, or on the internet. I also read scouting reports. You will notice that I am a little higher on guys that put up good numbers (like Billy Beane) than most scouts.

    I’m with you about the Rays and fantasy ball. I always get a good draft pick with Rays players! Shields has been a major steal for my teams!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Twitter Updates

Facebook Page

Archives


